Surgery Interest Group In the Department of Surgery

Clinical Opportunities

The faculty in the General Surgery department are all very open to the idea of having students observe and often participate in the OR or in clinics. Even if you're remotely interested in surgery this is a great way to investigate your interest, establish good contacts, and learn skills that will put you ahead of the lot during your rotations!

Here is a list of the general surgery faculty with their clinical interests, as well as what day they are in the OR and clinic. Feel free to contact these surgeons at the email addresses listed below to organize with them convenient meeting times. Good luck!

PS: We are working on obtaining similar schedules for the specialties (neuro, ortho etc.)

Trauma/Critical Care:
    Dr. Susan Brundage – sbrundage@stanford.edu
    Dr. Rochelle Dicker (also general surgery) – rdicker@stanford.edu
    Dr. David Spain (also general surgery) – dspain@stanford.edu

Colorectal:
    Dr. Andrew Shelton – shelton@stanford.edu
    Dr. Mark Welton – mwelton@stanford.edu

Minimally Invasive:
    Dr. Myriam Curet – mcuret@stanford.edu
    Dr. John Morton – morton@stanford.edu

Surgical Oncology/Endocrine:
    Dr. Fred Dirbas (breast) – freddirbas@yahoo.com or dirbas@stanford.edu
    Dr. Ralph Greco – grecors@stanford.edu
    Dr. Stefanie Jeffrey (breast) – ssj@stanford.edu
    Dr. Denise Johnson (breast and melanoma) – mudlj@stanford.edu    
    Dr. Jeffrey Norton – janorton@stanford.edu
    Dr. Sam So (liver) – samso@stanford.edu
    Dr. Irene Wapnir (breast) – wapnir@stanford.edu

VA SURGERY

    Dr. Sherry Wren (GI cases primarily) - swren@stanford.edu
    Dr. Bassem Safadi (Minimally invasive surgery) - bsafadi@stanford.edu

Day
Clinic
OR
Monday
Johnson / Wapnir
Dirbas / Morton / Welton
Tuesday
Curet / Dilbas / So / Spain / Dicker / Welton
Jeffrey / Johnson / Morton / Norton / VA: Wren / VA: Safadi
Wednesday
Greco / Jeffrey
Dirbas / So / Wapnir
Thursday
Dirbas / Shelton / So / Trauma / Wapnir / VA Clinic
Curet / Norton / Spain / Dicker
Friday
Morton / Norton
Curet / Greco / Shelton / Welton

 

Footer Links: